Outlaw Audio home shop products hideout news support about
Topic Options
#75112 - 01/20/06 01:05 AM Several more questions about the 970 vs 950, etc.
Jack_Dotson Offline
Gunslinger

Loc: Corpus Christi, TX
I've been running the 950 for a couple of years and have been pretty happy, but am considering upgrading to the 970 or 990.

One of the things I don't like about the 950 is that when I change channels on the TV (via my cable box, which is connected to the 950 via coax digital cable)there is a dealy before I get the audio. It takes forever for the 950 to decode the audio (all channels are digital, no analog to digital lag). Has this been resolved with the 970?

I have two LD's and a VCR connected to the 950. One LD and VCR via composite input and the other LD via S-Video. When the composite is transcoded via the S-video output to my TV the picture is really grainy and of very poor quality. Since the 970 can transcode via the component (and even let me see my menu on-screen, too cool)this is what I would use as the output to my TV. so how does the 970 handle the video conversions?

The 970 appears to have better DAC's then the 950. I would like to hear your opinions on how they compare when using a digital input from say a DVDP utilizing the 970 DAC's, for DD, DTS, etc. Movies/concerts sound allot better?

In my current set-up I use the analog inputs of the 950 almost exclusively. I like the analog filter provided with the 950, but it's fixed at 80Hz, as is the one on the 970. But, the 970 also provides a digital crossover with more flexibility. How is it implemented?

Since it's a digital crossover seems the analog signal would have to be converted to digital, filtered, and coverted back to analog at the output. I realize this gives more flexibility for SACD/DVDA, but it seems at the expense of the straight through path. Any of you guys experiment to see how different the two sound, even at the same 80Hz crossover? Outlaw, how about a varible analog filter?