Outlaw Audio home shop products hideout news support about
Topic Options
#55479 - 07/30/05 04:11 PM Newb needs help with first home theater setup
iamsmrt Offline
Deputy Gunslinger

Hi all, I'm just getting into the audiophile scene and need some help deciding what to do with my odd mix of speakers, DAC, and amps.

My first audiophile speaker purchase was a set of used Paradigm Active 20 version 2's. I loved the performance out of them and went ahead and purchased another used set with the thought of forming a fully active home theater system. Knowing that it's very hard to find the matching Paradigm Active center channel, I initially thought I could buy a third used set of Active 20's, but realized that they would very likely be unshielded and therefore not be able to be used with a television. I know at least with my old CRT that unshielded speakers distort the picture when too close to the television but is there another widely used television technology that doesn't require shielded speakers?

Anyways, I had so much trouble trying to buy a subwoofer on Audiogon because no one seemed to reply to emails that I bought a set of 4 speakers on ebay including the Paradigm Servo 15 ver. 1, 2 Paradigm LCR-450's, and 1 Paradigm CC-450.

So now I have this mix of Active and Passive speakers. I was thinking of using the two sets of Active 20's as front and rear channels, cc-450 for center channel, and 2 lcr-450's as rear surrounds. I was planning on buying an Outlaw 990 to use the XLR outputs for the Active 20's because their performance is significantly better using XLR cables than when using RCA cables out of a benchmark DAC-1 imho. XLR cables would also be a better option over long distances for the rear channels as well from what I've read.