Good Morning (EST) to All.

Initially this post is directed to "Ritz" (because he has the Magnepan Electronstatic speakers) and then I will continue the rest of my questions:

Ritz, I am considering the Magnepan 12s (mainly because I live in an apoartment, therefore, the 1.6 would take up over a 1/3 of my living room space)for the front (LR). A dealer of the Maggies is willing to sell me his floor demos for $880, and the humongous Maggie Center speaker for $790. I am not all that thrilled with the size of the Center speaker, but noticed that you are using a DefTech center. How is that working out for you? The dealer thought that a center speaker other than an electrostatic might cause some sound issues.

Ok, now on to the topics of the day...As I mentioned I am fairly new to the world of separates. Initially, I had considered going for the Flagship receivers of either Denon or Pioneer but ultimately decided that separates are the way to go which put me in a quandry. I Have researched the issue of separates until my eyes are crossed and I am not better off for it. To many choices, to little money...lol. I understand that name brand separates are a matter of personal choice, some people prefer astethics over function, while it is reeverse for others and of course there is $$$. I am not looking for High-End equipment that will cause me to go out and rob a bank to pay for, however, I don't want something that is not going to hold up (soundwise) functionally.

I have researched the following manufacturer's equipment: OUTLAW, NAD, ROTEL, SHERWOOD NEWCASTLE, and a couple of others and I am no closer to making an informed decision than I was when I began this quest.

I am looking for a Power AMP (200W per channel @ 7.1 channels), and a Pre-amp/Sound Processor. I am not sure which bells and whistles I will need and which are just nice to have. Is Bass Management an issue? I don't know, its hard to say what is and is not an issue without knowing what it does (or doesn't do).