Outlaw Audio home shop products hideout news support about
Topic Options
#62261 - 10/15/06 09:28 PM Balanced to RCA - OK or not OK?
ceddc Offline
Deputy Gunslinger

Loc: Central Valley Calif.
I've had my 990 for the past few months. Excellent. I just hooked up my new 7125 on a temporary basis until I get some properly sized interconnects. I have a few XLR to RCA, high quality interconnects (have to buy a couple more),which would be perfect to tidy up the rat nest behind my rack. Are there any drawbacks to doing this? I kind of think it should be OK, but I am far from an expert. Any feedback would be greatly appreciated.

#62262 - 10/15/06 10:19 PM Re: Balanced to RCA - OK or not OK?
tweeterman Offline
Gunslinger

Loc: Winnipeg, CANADA
It's a bad practise to connect a balanced output to an unbalanced input because depending on the way the connectors are wired you may short out one of the two active outputs to ground. RCA to RCA connectors are best to use with the 7125. Going from unbalanced out to balanced input is safer as nothing will be shorted to ground in the wiring. Hope this helps.

#62263 - 10/16/06 03:09 PM Re: Balanced to RCA - OK or not OK?
ceddc Offline
Deputy Gunslinger

Loc: Central Valley Calif.
Thank you very much for the help/advice. I'll do the RCA to RCA routine. So far, the amp is great. It runs my B&W N804's/ HTM 1, & others like a champ. Question - Does an amp like this require a "break-in" period of time? Seems like it sounded a little smoother after about an hour total time. Possibly just my imagination. Anyway, I'm going to leave it on continuosly for 2-3 days, on principle. Again, thanks for the help.

#62264 - 10/16/06 03:38 PM Re: Balanced to RCA - OK or not OK?
Viejo Loco Offline
Deputy Gunslinger

Loc: Rio Rancho
I like to break in all electrical equip for a couple of days. It took my ATI a week to fully break in.