Outlaw Audio home shop products hideout news support about
Topic Options
#2039 - 05/05/02 04:12 PM Supply Voltage
mj Offline
Deputy Gunslinger

Loc: San Diego, CA, USA
This is my first post. I've been following this forum for the past month and am very impressed with the congeniality and quality of technical knowledge. I am very new to home theater but audio and I are old friends. My main focus right now is to put together a home theater system in the next month or so. I believe the 1050 to be an excellent candidate for reciever. One thing that kept me from placing an order immediately was the supply voltage disclaimer. Outlaw specifies a 120 volt source supply. I reside in San Diego. Due to recent power shortages our power company has stated that they may reduce voltage at times of high useage. Though they haven't done this yet, they are leaving this open as an option. My question is: How will this affect the 1050? Though, this question might be applicable to any of the Outlaw electronics.

#2040 - 05/05/02 04:28 PM Re: Supply Voltage
gonk Offline
Desperado

Loc: Memphis, TN USA
I may be over-reacting, but I'd be curious to know what a sustained voltage dip like that would to do a lot of things -- electric motors (dryers, washers, dishwashers, air conditioner fans), compressors in air conditioners, television tubes, computer power supplies, ovens, ... (I just had a talk late last week with an equipment manufacturer about his heating coil ratings and what a difference the actual voltage provided makes.) As for the 1050 itself, I'd suspect a reduction in max power from the amp section (assuming the amp draw remains contant, losing volts will reduce watts). I don't know what the lower voltage would do to the electronics, if it would do anything.